ganzer Bildausschnit
ganzer Bildausschnit
Deutsch

|

English
Icon Kontakt
Contact
Icon Antrag
Application

Founder's introduction

Introduction


dritte Welt – Hier!

About us
Submit an application
   
   

Paid and unpaid work


From the beginning, we considered working for Umverteilen! to be political work for which nobody was to be paid. Decision-making was to be as independent as possible; we wanted dedicated individuals, not functionaries. Above all, we wanted to keep administrative costs low to have more money available to subsidize projects. We were not, however, aware at first of the amount of work involved in running a foundation with such a large amount of money and the complexity of the various fields of work.

We hired two office staff to manage the Foundation. Their salaries were to be commensurate with that of chemical technicians – after all, they were the ones whose work had generated the millions that we wanted to redistribute. The two "office staff" who joined the Foundation then are still working for us. Uschi Zöller is responsible for everything in connection with the work of the Board of Trustees, which includes investments, managing loans and real estate, and drawing up the business plan. Torsten Damerau deals with the working groups, the disbursement of funds, management of the projects we support as well as the Steering Committee. Both of them studied business management and completed their degrees during the first years of working for us, which was of great benefit to the Foundation, but was not reflected in their compensation. For this reason, we changed the Statutes in 2005 (with the approval of the regulatory authorities). Their salaries are now analogous to that of civil servants, including an appropriate pension plan.


Office


At first, we established an office in Berlin-Kreuzberg, renting space from Stattwerke, a consulting organization for cooperative and socially conscious businesses in the alternative scene, which consulted for us as well. As the rent became increasingly expensive and we needed more space, we purchased and renovated an industrial loft in Berlin-Schöneberg in 2001. We now have a larger conference room, two offices, space for our large number of files, and a kitchen. The rear part of the loft, the former guest apartment, is now also used by the Zurückgeben Foundation.


Consulting


From the beginning, we have used the services of specialists for all work that we were not knowledgeable enough to do ourselves (taxes, legal issues, investing) and have compensated them for their work.




nach oben

ganzer Bildausschnit
ganzer Bildausschnit
Deutsch

|

English
Icon Kontakt
Kontakt
Icon Antrag
Antrag

Präambel des Stifters

Präambel


dritte Welt – Hier!

Über uns
Antragstellung
   
   
Stiftung | Unsere Geschichte | Un/bezahlte Arbeit

Unbezahlte und bezahlte Arbeit


Von Anfang an betrachteten wir die Arbeit in der Stiftung als eine politische Tätigkeit, für die niemand bezahlt werden sollte. Die Entscheidungsfindung sollte so unabhängig wie möglich sein, wir wollten engagierte Menschen, aber keine Funktionäre. Vor allem wollten wir den Verwaltungsaufwand gering halten, damit wir mehr Geld für die Förderetats hatten. Allerdings – so richtig im Klaren, was eine Stiftung mit so viel Geld für einen Arbeitsaufwand bedeutet, wie komplex die Tätigkeitsfelder sind, waren wir uns zunächst nicht.

Für die Verwaltung der Stiftung suchten wir zwei Bürokräfte, deren Lohn sich nach dem der ChemiefacharbeiterInnen richten sollte – die hatten schließlich die Millionen erarbeitet, die wir umverteilen wollten. Die damals eingestellten „Bürokräfte“ arbeiten immer noch für die Stiftung. Uschi Zöller ist für alles zuständig, was mit der Vorstandsarbeit zu tun hat, also Geldanlage, Verwaltung der Darlehen, der Immobilien, Erstellung des Wirtschaftsplanes. Torsten Damerau betreut die Arbeitsgruppen, die Auszahlung der Gelder, die Abwicklung der geförderten Projekte sowie den Stiftungsrat. In den ersten Jahren absolvierten beide parallel zur Arbeit in der Stiftung ein Wirtschaftsstudium und schlossen dies mit einem Diplom ab, was der Stiftung sehr zu Gute kam, sich aber nicht in der Bezahlung niederschlug. Daher haben wir im Jahr 2005 die Satzung geändert (mit Zustimmung der Stiftungsaufsicht): Jetzt orientiert sich die Entlohnung am Tarifvertrag des öffentlichen Dienstes, zudem gibt es eine angemessene Altersversorgung.


Büro


Zunächst richteten wir ein Büro in Berlin-Kreuzberg ein, waren Untermieter bei Stattwerke, einer Beratungseinrichtung für kooperative und soziale Unternehmen aus dem Umfeld der Alternativ-Bewegung, die auch uns berieten. Da die Miete immer höher wurde und wir mehr Platz brauchten, kauften wir 2001 eine Fabriketage in Berlin-Schöneberg und ließen sie ausbauen. Jetzt haben wir einen größeren Versammlungsraum, zwei Büroräume, Platz für die vielen Akten, eine Küche. Der hintere Teil unserer Etage, die ehemalige Gästewohnung, wird inzwischen auch von der Stiftung Zurückgeben genutzt.


Beratung


Von Anfang an haben wir für alle Fragen, die wir nicht aus eigener Sachkenntnis klären konnten (Steuer, Recht, Geldanlage), SpezialistInnen herangezogen, die für ihren Arbeitsaufwand bezahlt werden.




nach oben