ganzer Bildausschnit
ganzer Bildausschnit
Deutsch

|

English
Icon Kontakt
Contact
Icon Antrag
Application

Founder's introduction

Introduction


dritte Welt – Hier!

About us
Submit an application
   
   

Conclusion


Our Foundation has now been in existence for more than thirty years. One of the founders still serves as a member of the Board of Trustees. Several members have been with the Foundation for almost as long. There have been very few changes in Board membership, a few more in the Steering Committee. It is evident that we have all aged, and some of us have already reached retirement age. But young people continue to join all the working groups.

This continuity can be considered evidence of the success of the Foundation′s structure. Indeed, there have been no major conflicts. Even the two paid office staff – Uschi Zöller and Torsten Damerau – are still working for the Foundation after more than thirty years.

On the other hand, we must recognize that this structure is also somewhat cumbersome. Groups need more time than individuals to make decisions, and work distributed among many people sometimes falls through the cracks and gets overlooked. Most members of the Foundation have jobs or volunteer for other organizations as well, which means that they have less time for the Foundation than necessary. This is a problem for the Board of Trustees, the Steering Committee and the working groups.

As all working groups are autonomous and meet, discuss applications and make decisions on their own, the members of the Foundation get to know one another only when they meet in the Foundation′s formal bodies (Board of Trustees and Steering Committee). The working groups do not know much about each other. For many years, we attempted to support exchange by means of parties or joint discussions, but this approach was only moderately successful. Cohesion continues to be rather loose, and individuals tend to identify more with their working groups than with the Foundation as a whole.

Only in the Board of Trustees do the members of the six working groups meet on a regular basis. As they work together continuously and must make decisions regularly, they know each other better and share a common discourse. Nonetheless, it has proven difficult at times to disseminate this to the other people involved with the Foundation, due among other things to the fact that the material is complex and difficult, and the working groups have their hands full with their own work.

As the Internet makes it possible to collect and exchange information quickly by e-mail, it has resulted in a distinct improvement in communication and eased the burden of work to a certain extent.

Uschi Zöller and Torsten Damerau, our office staff, contribute significantly to the Foundation′s cohesion. They really are informed about all matters (at least in their individual areas of responsibility) and can impart this information to others.

Our Foundation is flexible and not very bureaucratic. We use a relatively small percentage of our income in the service of earning that income, maintaining the Foundation and distributing funds. With the Foundation′s money (generated by others), with our time and our work, we would like to continue supporting people who refuse to resign themselves to the prevailing conditions, just as we do, and who are committed to a world in solidarity, just as we are.


Berlin-Schöneberg, March 2017




nach oben

ganzer Bildausschnit
ganzer Bildausschnit
Deutsch

|

English
Icon Kontakt
Kontakt
Icon Antrag
Antrag

Präambel des Stifters

Präambel


dritte Welt – Hier!

Über uns
Antragstellung
   
   

Fazit


Unsere Stiftung besteht jetzt seit über dreißig Jahren. Von den GründerInnen arbeitet noch eine im Vorstand mit. Es gibt noch einige Mitglieder, die fast genauso lange dabei sind. Im Vorstand hat es selten Wechsel gegeben, im Stiftungsrat etwas häufiger. Deutlich ist, dass wir alle älter geworden sind, manche sind schon im Rentenalter. Doch in allen Arbeitsgruppen sind immer wieder jüngere Leute dazugekommen.

Die Kontinuität kann man als Indiz betrachten, dass sich die Struktur der Stiftung bewährt hat. Tatsächlich hat es keine großen Konflikte oder Erschütterungen gegeben, sogar die beiden bezahlten Bürokräfte - Uschi Zöller und Torsten Damerau – sind nach mehr als dreißig Jahren noch immer für die Stiftung tätig.

Andererseits müssen wir erkennen, dass eben diese Struktur eine gewisse Schwerfälligkeit mit sich bringt. Gruppen entscheiden langsamer als Individuen, auf viele Schultern verteilte Arbeit fällt auch gerne mal daneben und wird nicht erledigt. Die meisten Mitglieder der Stiftung sind berufstätig oder noch anderweitig engagiert, so dass für die Stiftungsarbeit nicht immer so viel Zeit bleibt wie nötig wäre. Mit dem Problem haben Vorstand, Stiftungsrat sowie die Arbeitsgruppen zu kämpfen.

Da alle Arbeitsgruppen autonom sind, sich unabhängig voneinander treffen, diskutieren und entscheiden, kennen sich die Mitglieder der Stiftung meist nur, wenn sie sich in den „Stiftungsorganen“ (Vorstand und Stiftungsrat) begegnen. Die AGs wissen nicht besonders viel übereinander. Über viele Jahre lang haben wir versucht, über Feste oder gemeinsame Diskussionen für einen stärkeren Austausch zu sorgen, aber mit mäßigem Erfolg. Nach wie vor ist der Zusammenhalt eher locker, identifizieren sich die Einzelnen eher mit ihrer Arbeitsgruppe als mit der gesamten Stiftung.

Nur im Vorstand treffen sich Mitglieder der sechs Arbeitsgruppen regelmäßig. Da sie kontinuierlich miteinander arbeiten und regelmäßig Entscheidungen treffen müssen, kennen sie sich besser und haben ein gemeinsames Gespräch. Dennoch erweist es sich mitunter als schwierig, dies dem Rest der Stiftung nahe zu bringen. Was auch daran liegt, dass die Materie komplex und schwierig ist und die AGs genug mit sich selber zu tun haben.

Immerhin hat das Internet mit der Möglichkeit, sich per Email schnell und umfassend zu informieren und auszutauschen, eine deutliche Verbesserung der Kommunikation bewirkt und zu einer gewissen Arbeitsentlastung geführt.

Uschi Zöller und Torsten Damerau aus unserem Büro leisten einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Zusammenhalt der Stiftung. Sie sind wirklich über alle Vorgänge (zumindest in ihrem Bereich) informiert und können diese Informationen vermitteln.

Unsere Stiftung ist flexibel und wenig bürokratisch. Wir verwenden einen verhältnismäßig kleinen Teil unserer Erträge für der Erwirtschaftung derselben beziehungsweise für den Erhalt der Stiftung und für die Verteilung von Fördermitteln. Mit dem Geld der Stiftung (das andere erwirtschaften), mit unserer Zeit und unserer Arbeit wollen wir auch weiterhin Menschen unterstützen, die sich wie wir nicht mit den gegebenen Verhältnissen abfinden, die sich wie wir für eine, solidarische Welt einsetzen.


Berlin-Schöneberg, im März 2017




nach oben